Marksmanship - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Sports, Hobbies and all things unrelated to Politics.

Moderator: PoFo The Lounge Mods

By The Clockwork Rat
After having fired a few rounds whilst I was working over in the US, I decided to join a local small-bore rifle club. Thus far I have fired .22LR with benchrest and unsupported prone, and air rifle standing. The former is 25yds and the latter 10m.

So far I can score 50/50 at 25yds with the bench rest on a 2"/4.5mm black, but the precision rifles they use are fucking heavy so my unsupported - whilst still in the black - is crap.

How good are you guys, and does anyone have any tips/good resources?
By Ranb
While I have been shooting since 1990, it has only been two years since I built myself a small bore target rifle from a Savage MkI. I replaced the synthetic stock with a Boyd's wood stock, installed an Anschutz rail to attach a palm rest and/or hand stop. I also cut down the stock a bit to reduce the length of pull and attached an adjustable butt hook. I use this target at 50 feet; http://www.midwayusa.com/product/112282 ... age-of-100 and other larger targets at 50 and 100 yards. The targets are sized so the shooter can use the same front sight insert. The bulls eye on the 50 foot target is about the same size as the period in this sentence. I spend much more time helping coach the junior small bore team at the gun club than actually practicing with my own target rifle, so my scores are 80 prone, 60 kneeling and only 40 offhand, out of 100. I only recently bought a used shooting jacket. I always use a glove/sling for prone and kneeling.