Wikipedia - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Sports, Hobbies and all things unrelated to Politics.

Moderator: PoFo The Lounge Mods

By Agent Steel
There must be a few people here who have edited wikipedia before. What were your experiences like?

I'm very new to it. I've submitted maybe 20 or 30 edits, and only a few have been accepted.

What's the best way to make changes to an article? It seems like a long process where most of the work is done on the Talk page. Does it come down to who fights the hardest? How do you convince the staff to change their minds?
By Ter
@Agent Steel
I am an editor in Wikipedia and I have never faced problems with others deleting what I edited.
It is best to stay away from disputed subjects and restrict yourself to matters in which you are either an expert or you have personal knowledge that others do not have.
By Agent Steel
Ter wrote:@Agent Steel
I am an editor in Wikipedia and I have never faced problems with others deleting what I edited.
It is best to stay away from disputed subjects and restrict yourself to matters in which you are either an expert or you have personal knowledge that others do not have.

I believe I have personal knowledge about how to properly classify musical genres. I have gone in to edit genres of bands or albums and my edits have been promptly removed.
By Ter
Agent Steel wrote:I believe I have personal knowledge about how to properly classify musical genres. I have gone in to edit genres of bands or albums and my edits have been promptly removed.

Obviously some other editors do not agree with your classification.
I cannot advise you in this matter, I am sorry.
By Bulaba Khan Jones
Agent Steel wrote:I believe I have personal knowledge about how to properly classify musical genres. I have gone in to edit genres of bands or albums and my edits have been promptly removed.