Happiness in poverty - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

For the discussion of Philosophy. Discuss thought from Socrates to the Enlightenment and beyond!

Moderator: PoFo Agora Mods

Forum rules: No one line posts please. Religious topics may be debated in this forum, but those of religious belief who specifically wish to avoid threads being derailed by atheist arguments might prefer to use the Spirituality forum.
OK, as a student at an elite European university I wouldn't say I am 'impoverished'. But I am a 27 year old independent, mature student; so I don't have a rich family paying my fees. I am very much amassing a lot of debt, and living a frugal existence in a shared house.

Now, I have had many jobs in between my first attempt at college and my current stint in higher education: I was a combat engineer in the army, I have worked 12 hour shifts in a factory and I have had less-desirable or less well-paying jobs.

Even when I was earning good money in the army and in factories (overtime can make you very affluent when you're in your early 20s and live in a small town in Wiltshire) I wasn't particularly happy with my lot. I was always academic; someone who used their mind, rather than physical and someone who used his hands. I guess I know these jobs were not what I actually wanted to do.

And so I am at University, approaching my final year and preparing applications for LSE et al to do International Development as a Postgrad.
I am unable to spend freely like I did a few years back, not having to worry about my bank balance and checking funds meticulously. Whenever someone suggested a holiday abroad I would have no reservations, and was usually able to book immediately.