My thoughts on the stagflation of the 1970s in the US. - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Political issues and parties in the USA and Canada.

Moderator: PoFo North America Mods

Forum rules: No one line posts please.
I am just a layman. I like MMT much more than other economic theories. What follows is not based on specific things I read by MMT economists. It is my theory [using MMT as a base] of what happened in the 1970s.

1] Because of the deficits being run to pay for the Vietnam War and for "butter" in America, economists were afraid that inflation would start soon.
2] For whatever reason, OPEC decided to raise oil prices a lot in 1973. And, they were able to make their decision stand. So, oil prices went up.
3] Oil was included in the price of everything. Either as plastic, chemicals, packaging, or transportation from mine to industry and industry to stores.
4] This meant that businessmen had to increase the price of what they sold to cover the increases in their costs that resulted from the new higher price of oil.
5] Economists saw the rise in general prices and assumed it was an example of 'too much money chasing too few goods'. Rather, than resulting from a rise in the price of just 1 key resource that the US economy used for almost everything.
6] The Governors of the Fed. Res. Bank decided that they needed to fight the inflation they saw. So, they raised interest rates. This had zero effect toward reducing inflation because all the businessmen had to recoup their costs to stay in business. They could not reduce their prices and make a profit.
7] OPEC raised the price of their oil again because of the inflation they saw.
8] American businessmen now had to raise prices again both because of the rising price of oil and their new higher interest costs.