Asia-Pacific "Links Bible" - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Political issues and parties from Japan to Turkmenistan to New Zealand.

Moderator: PoFo Asia & Australasia Mods

Forum rules: No one line posts please. This is an international political discussion forum moderated in English, so please post in English only. Thank you.
By Bricktop
#86983
I have started this so people can have a quick links guide to political news and party sites in Asia and the Pacific.

If you would like to add more especcialy of many of the other nations (which you may be native of) in Asia-Pacific to the list, by all means send me a PM. More links means more information.. which is never a bad thing :) I will constantly edit this first post with more links.

Governments on the Web
Asia - http://www.gksoft.com/govt/en/asia.html
Oceania - http://www.gksoft.com/govt/en/oceania.html

The two sites above cover quite a bit of information - more than this thread ever will be able to. However, this thread is not concerned with EVERY link we could possibly get - rather - the better links. If there are any problems, send me a PM (sites are down - sites are wrong etc)
Thanks,
Drummond

What we have so far in order..
Australia
New Zealand
Singapore
Indonesia
Japan
Philippines


Please PM me if any links are broken.

..News for Asia-Pacific Region..
ABC Asia Pacific - http://abcasiapacific.com/news/

Australia

General Information

Politics Information
Australian Politics - http://www.australianpolitics.com/
Australian Government (which includes links to all departments) - http://www.australia.gov.au
Palmer's Oz Politics - http://www.ozpolitics.info/

State Governments
New South Wales - http://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au
Victoria - http://www.parliament.vic.gov.au
Queensland - http://www.parliament.qld.gov.au
South Australia - http://www.parliament.sa.gov.au
Western Australia - http://www.parliament.wa.gov.au
Tasmania - http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au
Northern Territory - http://www.nt.gov.au
Australian Capital Territory - http://www.legassembly.act.gov.au/

Media Outlets

Newspapers
Sydney Morning Herald - http://ww.smh.com.au
The Australian - http://www.australian.news.com.au
The Age - http://www.theage.com.au
Australian Financial Review - http://afr.com
Canberra Times - http://www.canberratimes.com.au
Green Left Weekly - http://www.greenleft.org.au
The Bulletin - http://bulletin.ninemsn.com.au/

Other Media
Ninemsn News - http://ninemsn.com.au/news
ABC News - http://www.abc.net.au/news
Crikey - http://www.crikey.com.au
World News - http://www.theworldnews.com.au

Political Movements etc

Political Parties
Liberal Party - http://www.liberal.org.au
Labor Party - http://www.alp.org.au
Democrats - http://www.democrats.org.au
National Party - http://www.nationals.org.au
Greens - http://www.greens.org.au
Democratic Socialists - http://www.dsp.org.au
One Nation - http://www.onenation.com.au

Other Movements and NGO's

Social
Aus Flag - http://www.ausflag.com.au
Monarchist League - http://www.monarchist.org.au/
Republican Movement - http://www.republic.org.au/
Resistance - http://www.resistance.org.au/
Labor Net - http://www.labor.net.au/
Australian Libertarian Society - http://www.libertarian.org.au/index.jsp

Environmental
Greenpeace - http://www.greenpeace.org.au
Friends of the Earth - http://www.foe.org.au
Wilderness Society - http://www.wilderness.org.au/
Animal Liberation NSW - http://www.animal-lib.org.au/

Political Shops and Bookstores etc

No Political Orientation
Book-store database searcher - http://www.getonce.com.au/books.html

Left Wing
New International Book Shop - http://www.nibs.org.au/
Eureka Books - http://www.eurekabooks.net.au/
Corporate Greed (tshirts) - http://www.corporate-greed.com/
Resistance Books (socialist publishers) - http://www.resistancebooks.com/

Anarchist
Jura Anarchist Bookshop - http://www.zeta.org.au/~anarchie/jura/home.htm
Black Rose (Anarchist books)- http://www.cat.org.au/blackrose/

New Zealand

General Information

Politics Information
NZ Governmental Website - http://www.govt.nz/
Political Policy Online - http://www.policy.net.nz
Elections New Zealand - http://www.elections.org.nz/

Media Outlets

Newspapers
New Zealand Herald - http://www.nzherald.co.nz/
National Business Review - http://www.nbr.co.nz/
The Independent - http://www.theindependent.co.nz/index.html
Dominion Post - http://www.stuff.co.nz/stuff/dominionpost/

Other Media
Stuff - http://www.stuff.co.nz/
NZoom - http://www.nzoom.com/index.html
Trans Tasman - http://www.transtasman.co.nz/
News Room - http://www.newsroom.co.nz

Political Movements etc

Political Parties (so many parties for such a small population!)
Labour Party - http://www.labour.org.nz/
National Party - http://www.national.org.nz/
New Zealand First - http://www.nzfirst.org.nz/index.php
ACT New Zealand - http://www.act.org.nz/
Progressive Coalition - http://www.progressive.org.nz/
United Future - http://www.unitedfuture.org.nz/
Green Party - http://www.greens.org.nz/

Other Movements and NGO's
Aotearoa Republican Movement - http://www.republic.org.nz/

Singapore

Smith's Thread - http://www.politicsforum.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4677

Smith's thread is devoted to Singapore and the politics of that nation. The first post includes many links to media outlets, action groups and political parties.

Indonesia

General Information

Politics Information
AllRefer (heaps of articles and links) - http://reference.allrefer.com/country-g ... indonesia/
Indonesia Politics - http://home.swipnet.se/zabonk/indons/in ... litics.htm
Political Resources – Indonesia - http://www.politicalresources.net/indonesia.htm

Media Outlets

Newspapers
Jakarta Post - http://www.thejakartapost.com/headlines.asp
Inside Indonesia - http://www.serve.com/inside/

Other Media
Antara - http://www.antara.co.id/english.asp
BBC Indonesia - http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific ... 260544.stm

Political Movements etc

Other Movements and NGOs
Free Aceh Movement (about) - http://acehnet.tripod.com/asnlf.htm

Japan

General Information

Politics Information
Japanese Politics Central - http://www.japanesepoliticians.com/
Prime Minister's Website - http://www.kantei.go.jp/foreign/index-e.html
House of Representatives - http://www.shugiin.go.jp/itdb_main.nsf/html/index_e.htm
House of Councillers - http://www.sangiin.go.jp/eng/index.htm

Media Outlets

Newspapers
Asahi Newspaper - http://www.asahi.com/english/english.html
The Japan Times - http://www.japantimes.co.jp/
Kyoto Shimbun News - http://www.kyoto-np.co.jp/kp/index_e.html

Other Media
Fuji News Network - http://www.fnn-news.com/en/index.html
Kyodo News Web - http://home.kyodo.co.jp/

Political Movements etc

Political Parties
Liberal Democrats - http://www.jimin.jp/jimin/english/
New Komeito - http://www.komei.or.jp/eng/index.htm
Democratic Party - http://www.dpj.or.jp/english/index.html
Communist Party of Japan - http://www.jcp.or.jp/english/

Philippines

General Information

Politics Information
Philippines Government - http://www.gov.ph
Commission on Elections - http://www.comelec.gov.ph/
Election Laws of the Philippines - http://www.chanrobles.com/comelecrulesofprocedure.htm
People's Power - http://www.codewan.com.ph/peoplespower/

Media Outlets

Newspapers
Daily Tribune - http://www.tribune.net.ph/
Manilla Bulletin - http://www.mb.com.ph/
Manilla Times - http://www.manilatimes.net/

Other Media
Halalan 2004 - http://www.houseonahill.net/halalan2004/
Philippine Centre for Investigative Journalism - http://www.pcij.org/
INQ7 - http://www.inq7.net/

Political Movements etc

Political Parties
Liberal Party - http://www.liberalparty.ph/
Akbayan - http://www.akbayan.org/
New Patriotic Alliance - http://www.bayanorg.pilnet.com/
AMIN - http://www.geocities.com/amin_luzon/

Other Movements and NGOs
Transparent Accountable Governence - http://www.tag.org.ph/

Proctor's Edit: No one is to reply to this thread. Treat it as if it were locked.
Arbiter's Edit: Just another reminder, this is to be treated as a locked thread. If you have suggestions for more links, please send either myself or Maxim Litvinov a PM.
Last edited by Bricktop on 14 Feb 2004 05:12, edited 20 times in total.
User avatar
By Teen Politican
#13150770
Definition of Asia Pacific
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asia_Pacific


The Asia-Pacific region generally includes:

Australia
Brunei
Cambodia
People's Republic of China
China Hong Kong SAR
China Macau SAR
China Taiwan(ROC)
Fiji
Indonesia
Japan
Kiribati
North Korea
South Korea
Laos
Malaysia
Marshall Islands
Federated States of Micronesia
Nauru
New Zealand
Palau
Papua New Guinea
Philippines
Samoa
Singapore
Solomon Islands
Thailand
Timor-Leste
Tonga
Tuvalu
Vanuatu
Vietnam

United States Territories:
American Samoa
Guam
Northern Mariana Islands


Sometimes included:

Mongolia (landlocked country in East Asia)
Myanmar (Burma) (member of the ASEAN)
Russia (the Russian Far East borders the Pacific Ocean)



The reason for not using PM to provide information is that name of target users maybe wrong such that they can't receive my PM.
(Refer to)
Proctor's Edit: No one is to reply to this thread. Treat it as if it were locked.
Arbiter's Edit: Just another reminder, this is to be treated as a locked thread. If you have suggestions for more links, please send either myself or Maxim Litvinov a PM.

"...There are still periods of food shortage[…]

Having a literal fascist regime as the #1 superpo[…]

Generally speaking, I've always heard that the EU[…]

RIP Her final act will save the American Republi[…]