New form of democracy? - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Modern liberalism. Civil rights and liberties, State responsibility to the people (welfare).
Forum rules: No one line posts please.
By IlPrincipe
As I am currently studying the evolution of politics in history and the different political regimes,
I was wondering if it was possible that in the future a new form of democracy (or other political organisation) could appear in the western civilisations (considered as modernised).

The current democracies know different issues such as nepotist tendencies, corruptions or yet the mass medias manipulation.
So my thoughts are maybe naive or hypothetical, but it would interesting to discuss if a new form of social organisation, maybe more efficient, would be conceivable, and if yes which one?!

I also had in mind the changes of the French Revolution and the apparition of liberal ideas advocating a suffrage exclusively for rich and educated people?
I was thus wondering if a "right of vote" allowed to the citizens by an exam based on their qualifications and aptitudes could be an alternative?
Could this form of qualified franchise resolve many current problems still in a "democratic" way?

These ideas may seem very far-fetched but this is why I wanted to hear different opinions.
Your "new" form of democracy actually existed in the developed European nations of the 19th century, as a limited franchise for the well-to-do (which by definition at that time meant the educated classes of society). However, the early 20th century saw the advent of the masses into the political sphere for the first time. Once that particular genie had been allowed out of the bottle, there's no way to shove it back inside again.