Where I'm at. - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Classical liberalism. The individual before the state, non-interventionist, free-market based society.
Forum rules: No one line posts please.
By Cartertonian
You might think it odd that I chose to post this in the Libertaranism forum, but I hope you will see the relevance if you read on.

I have been coming to this place, now, for over six years. I started precisely because I was unsure what my political views were and wanted clarity. The fact that it has taken me over six years to attempt even this first draft of my views indicates that clarity is a rare commodity on PoFo.

Firstly, I believe it is inescapable that people’s views will be founded upon that to which they have been exposed, be it by nature or nurture, over their lives. The brain is nothing more than an organic computer and it can only process (and is thus limited by) the information it contains. Therefore, I think intellectual maturity is only achieved when one is able to challenge one’s own beliefs, in acknowledgement that they are based on incomplete and subjective data, and go out and seek more data to confirm, refute or simply refine one’s beliefs.

What I see on PoFo, day in and day out, is that most (clearly not all, but most) posters are unwilling to acknowledge that their beliefs may be founded upon incomplete and subjective data and compensate for that by shouting more loudly and debating more aggressively.