The Legal System in your country - thoughts? - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Crime and prevention thereof. Loopholes, grey areas and the letter of the law.
Forum rules: No one line posts please.
Hi all, I'm a law student in Australia. What does the law and justice mean to you, personally and how do you view the legal system in the country you live in?

Background info: Australia's common law system was inherited the UK. Unlike Continental European Civil Law (which derived mainly from Rome), British common law is founded on the concept of precedence and case law. Although Parliament is and always will be the primary legislative function, under common law judges (should they choose to be activist rather than formalist/legalist) have considerable discretion in interpreting the law.

I can say without shame that I'm proud to be living under a system where the judiciary is independent (to a large extent) of the executive, with a system that is adaptive to social change whilst ensuring that fundamental principles that have evolved into some of our basic rights, such as habeas corpus, remain.
By Maxim Litvinov
I'm Aussie too, with family in the profession.

Here are my uninformed thoughts...

[1] Australia had a great legal aid system as far as I can gather, but it's been sorely underfunded over the last couple of decades. As such, lack of opportunity for the disadvantaged to have their day in court with reputable people representing them is probably the single biggest problem in the system.