Danish TV race and IQ. - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Language, bias, ownership, influence; all media related topics.
Forum rules: No one line posts please.
By TenSixtySix
I stumbled upon this video on recently where a Danish TV program on free to air broadcaster DR2 talks about race and IQ.

[youtube]A7Fdl9Kmhgs[/youtube]

Whether you agree or not, it is interesting that this topic is being discussed on a national broadcaster in a European country.

Worthwhile points being made the science journalist(Lone Frank) in regards to the studies:

-There has been an aversion to study anything to do with race and intelligence because of WW2. Additionally, UNESCO since the war has promoted a humanitarian "Everyone is equal" outlook. Scientists have had to toe this line or it may affect their career. (I have no real knowledge of the latter part but I assume it true)
-If there are targets for x amount of university intake, yet the population bell curve is incapable of supporting this target, there will be people encouraged to study that are probably not academically capable.
-Ideological barriers should not inhibit research that isn't politically correct. If IQ is as research suggests 60 - 80% heritable, not knowing what the environmental factors are means the gap cannot be plugged at all.

This woman doesn't strike me as racist as many would call her, rather she is observing the science and suggest it should be used to remedy the situation rather than use it to discriminate. We need to admit there is a difference first before we can determine the environmental factors affecting IQ, which is important as many jobs are becoming more intellectually demanding.