Is there an economist or an economics major on this website .... - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

"It's the economy, stupid!"

Moderator: PoFo Economics & Capitalism Mods

Forum rules: No one line posts please.
....hopefully with a Masters or higher degree. I have a question and only real economics knowledge and insight can answer it reliably methinks. And I'm not posting it yet because I would like to avoid having it buried by off-topic wrangling and irrelevant arguing.
Senter wrote:....hopefully with a Masters or higher degree. I have a question and only real economics knowledge and insight can answer it reliably methinks. And I'm not posting it yet because I would like to avoid having it buried by off-topic wrangling and irrelevant arguing.

I have a degree in economics and 50 years of watching the money ebbing and flowing and a pretty good record of using trends to my advantage.
Ok guys, this is a hypothetical scenario question. I'm interested in data, ... in facts and probabilities, ....--not partisan nonsense.

Let's imagine for a moment that the US government decided to nationalize the banking industry. All banking in the US, top to bottom, is now owned and operated by the government, as is all loaning processes.

The decision is made to eliminate all interest being paid on savings and other accounts that previously paid interest to the depositor. Also, all loans are to be made interest-free. All loans to businesses and consumers alike, are "zero-interest" loans. If you want to borrow money to buy a house or a car or a business (or anything else) you fill out the usual application, the application is evaluated, the money is loaned against collateral, and the loan is completed.

What might be the effects and/or results of such no-interest arrangements and why? Maybe inflation could be kept close to zero?